Nassington Pre-School

Home » Curriculum


How Do We Make Sure Your Child Gets A Good Start?
Nassington Pre-School follows the Early Years Foundation framework, which is a legal requirement for all registered organisations that provide care for young children, from birth to the end of the reception class at Primary School.

Specific requirements are that :-

  • We must have effective systems in place to ensure that the individual needs of all children are met
  • Each child has a key person, which is led by the child’s attachment
  • We promote equality of opportunity and ensure that every child is included
  • We ensure that there is a balance of adult led and freely-chosen or child-led initiative activities
  • We undertake sensitive observational assessment in order to plan to meet young children’s individual needs
  • We plan and provide experiences which are appropriate to each stage of development

What is a Key Person?
To ensure we meet you and your child’s requirements a key person is assigned to you. This is not forced by the practitioners but is a natural process where your child forms the link. The key person’s role is to offer support and care when needed and to provide tools which can be used to increase the individual child’s learning i.e. to take confidential photographs, videos and narrative observations. This is then shared with you and your child as we value your views.

What is the Early Years Foundation Stage?
The EYFS principles which guide the work of all practitioners are grouped into four distinct but complimentary themes.

A Unique Child recognises that every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self assured. The commitments are focused around development; inclusion; safety; and health and well-being.

Positive Relationships describes how children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving relationships with parents and/or a key person. The commitments are focused around respect; partnership with parents; supporting learning; and the role of the key person.

Enabling Environments explains that the environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s development and learning.

Learning and Development recognises that children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates.

The Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage comprises of seven areas of learning and development, all the areas are important and inter-connected. Three of the areas are crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning. The prime areas are:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

The other four areas are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

We understand all children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates.

For further information, please refer to:–2

For extra government campaigns Hungry Little Minds campaign tool kit please see below

Ofsted –

None of these areas of Learning and Development can be delivered in isolation from others. They are all equally important and depend on each other to support a rounded approach to child development. All the areas are delivered through planned, purposeful play, with a balance of adult-led and child-initiated activities.

EYPP – Early Years Pupil Premium

This is available funding for parents to claim which aims at supporting their child’s learning and development, for further information please see:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s